A Hi Fidelity Vinyl Experience

The next AudioCollective event will feature Richard D James by Aphex Twin on Saturday 24th February at The Swan.

Richard D. James Album is the self-titled fourth studio album by British electronic musician Richard D. James, under his pseudonym Aphex Twin. The album was released on 4 November 1996 through Warp and we’ll be playing the vinyl reissue  released on 18 September 2012.

Richard D. James Album was composed by James in his Macintosh computer, and took several years to complete—more than his previous efforts. The album features lush string arrangements and unstable time signatures. It also has slow ambient melodies, reminiscent of James’ earlier work, built over faster breakbeats and drum programming; this sound draws elements from jungle and drum and bass. The bonus tracks feature modulated vocals by James.

Whatever your opinion of the relative merits of James’ two previous albums Selected Ambient Works Volume II (1994) and …I Care Because You Do (1995), it is the eponymously titled Richard D. James album that introduced Aphex Twin to the wider world.  The album charted in the UK, peaking at a lowly number 62 but received acclaim from music critics, and NME listed it as the 20th best album of the year.

The AC crew are looking forward to an electronic meltdown!!

The album will be played on new equipment supplied by the AC crew and also include discussion (not too heavy!) video footage (of the performer) and a chance to bring along and play your own related vinyl. If you dont have any vinyl but do have ideas for related music we can play requests via our new high fidelity TIDAL streamer.

Each month we’ll be giving away a fresh copy of the vinyl  in our free to enter raffle too …


Our new  pricing scheme allows loyal fans of the AC nights to attend any 3 events at £4 and get the 4th FREE.

Just collect a loyalty card when you arrive .

£4 advance tickets are available online at Badlands.

Spring Season